Douglas & McIntyre

Reviews of “I Am a Japanese Writer”

Sort By
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

July 2011

"Recommended for fans of absurdist literature like that written by Kurt Vonnegut and Harold Pinter."

Library Journal, Jul 15, 2011
Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

July 2011

"A quirky yet unique read of celebrity and wishes gone wrong, I am a Japanese Writer is a choice pick for literary fiction collections, highly recommended."

The Midwest Book Review, Jul 1, 2011
Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

June 2011
"Laferriere...writes movingly and cleverly about race, nationality, and, ultimately, the multiple conflicting ways we form our identities. His prose, in this case ably translated by his longtime translator David Homel, is deadpan and devious."
this magazine, Jun 20, 2011
Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

November 2010

"It's a wonderful, existential conceit: The book we're reading is being written as we read it."

Globe & Mail Top 100 for 2010, Nov 27, 2010
Read more >>Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

November 2010

“Fans of international literature will find much that is familiar in I Am a Japanese Writer. The book bears a kinship, in terms of design, to European novels like Italo Calvino's If On a Winter's Night a Traveller. In tone, Laferrière employs a poetic sensibility achieved through brief, elliptical chapters.”

Montreal Review of Books, Nov 12, 2010
Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

November 2010

“In his unique fashion, Laferrière captures the spirit of our culture, where cultural boundaries are erased and the real and the unreal intimately coexist.”

National Post, Nov 5, 2010
Read more >>Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

November 2010

“I Am a Japanese Writer sees Laferriere challenge his readers in a way that can best be described as part Kafkaesque nightmare and Woody Allen acid test...The novel has a strong odour of nationalistic pride...relentlessly pushing the boundaries of unwarranted celebrity and manufactured cult phenomena to unimaginable and absurd degrees of sarcasm. There are plenty of references to, and encounters with streams of Japanese girls, and the sexual tension throughout flows like the smoothness of our hero’s scythe.”

Toronto Quarterly, Nov 2, 2010
Read more >>Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

October 2010

“[I am a Japanese Writer] is all about place and identity, names and nationality and the paradoxical relationship between rigid lines of nationalism and the fluidity of the individual. Episodic and picaresque, it is a humorous look at identity and nationality, writing and the mind of a writer...This is a deceptively painless read, when really it's a complex, multi-faceted look at race, identity, art and culture.”

Telegraph Journal, Oct 16, 2010
Read more >>Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

September 2010

I Am a Japanese Writer’s narrative self-awareness is its greatest strength...[Laferriere’s] penchant for pithy, wide-ranging cultural commentary is entertaining, particularly in the novel’s early sections.”

Quill & Quire, Sep 1, 2010
Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>
I Am a Japanese Writer

I Am a Japanese Writer

July 2010

“Vonnegut once called him the ‘fastest titler in America,’ yet Dany Laferrière is even more than that. Funny, direct and true, Laferrière is among the most living of this continent’s living writers.”

Sheila Heti, author of Ticknor, Jul 19, 2010
Read more about I Am a Japanese Writer >>