Douglas & McIntyre

Reviews of “Who We Are”

Sort By
Who We Are

Who We Are

May 2009

In his new book Who We Are… Rudyard Griffiths challenges Canadians to rediscover the founding principals of Canadian nationhood and revitalize our sense of citizenship

Financial Post, May 9, 2009
Read more about Who We Are >>
Who We Are

Who We Are

April 2009

"Who We Are is a bold and sometimes provocative book: while rejecting crude nationalism, Griffiths insists that multicultural Canada in a complicated, often volatile world is best served by a more robust idea of citizenship and a stronger allegiance to its traditions and institutions. While the book is not convincing throughout — the political machinations in Upper and Lower Canada are hardly a mythic parallel to the American Revolution, and the idea of “loyalty” that Griffiths sees as crucial to the Canadian version of democracy seems weak compared with the vision of liberty that fuelled the Declaration of Independence — it is nonetheless the starting point of a conversation that we can only ignore at our peril."

Read the full article and review on The Walrus's website.

The Walrus, Apr 16, 2009
Read more >>Read more about Who We Are >>
Who We Are

Who We Are

April 2009

“In this provocative work, Griffiths argues that at this critical juncture Canadians need to rediscover our country’s founding principles – robust civic values and social solidarity – so that we can create a movement of passionate citizenship, one which will keep us accountable not just to our neighbourhoods and cities, but to our country.”

Argyle Magazine, Apr 7, 2009
Read more about Who We Are >>
Who We Are

Who We Are

April 2009

Who We Are: A Citizen’s Manifesto isn’t only about who we are but also about who, in Griffiths opinion, we ought to be. The young public intellectual is a Canadian patriot, 21st century style. He makes a convincing case…”

National Post, Apr 1, 2009
Read more about Who We Are >>
Who We Are

Who We Are

March 2009

“[Griffiths] book melds logical clarity with truly excellent prose.”

Inside Queens Park, Mar 24, 2009
Read more about Who We Are >>
Who We Are

Who We Are

March 2009

Who We Are’s diagnosis of the postnational predicament is compelling, refreshing and highly relevant… While Who We Are doesn’t present all the answers, it does us an enormous service by opening up the debate. Taking on myths might seem very un-Canadian, but in writing this book, Griffiths distinguishes himself as one of the very best Canadians of his generation.”

Globe and Mail, Mar 14, 2009
Read more about Who We Are >>