Douglas & McIntyre

News & Events

News & Event Details

In the Fabled East nominated for 2011 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Best Book award

In the Fabled East nominated for 2011 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Best Book award

February 2011

Douglas & McIntyre is thrilled to announce that Adam Lewis Schroeder’s In the Fabled East has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Best Book award, in the Canada and Caribbean category.

According to Dr. Mark Collins, Commonwealth Foundation Director, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize “aims to reward the best of Commonwealth fiction written in English,” and promote “cultural exchange and diversity.” Commenting on this year’s selections, Canada and Caribbean Regional Chair, Antonia MacDonald-Smythe, lauded the shortlisted authors for their “deft manipulation of history, fable, autobiography and documentary fiction,” and in reference to In the Fabled East, praised those that “transcend both place and time.”

The other four Best Book finalists in Canada and Caribbean are Caroline Adderson’s The Sky Is Falling, Emma Donoghue’s Room, Jack Hodgins’ The Master of Happy Endings, Michael Winter’s The Death of Donna Whalen and Richard B. Wright’s Mr. Shakespeare's Bastard. The Best Book winner will receive a sum of £10,000.

A sweeping literary adventure set against the backdrop of French Indochina, Karl Marlantes, author of Matterhorn, calls In the Fabled East “An unforgettable tour of colonial Vietnam. A fabulous piece of writing." Bridging history from 1890s Aix-en-Provence to American containment during the Cold War, Adam Lewis Schroeder presents a rich and sensual depiction of Southeast Asia, charting the loss of innocence of individuals and the world at large. Echoing Graham Greene and Joseph Conrad, this is historical fiction written with wisdom and panache.

Now in its 25th year, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize has selected both household names and emerging stars for their awards. The winner from Canada and the Caribbean will be announced on the 3rd of March, and will compete against the finalists from the four different regions of the Commonwealth. The overall winner will be announced on May 21st, at Sydney Writers’ Festival in Australia.

Read more about In the Fabled East >>