Douglas & McIntyre

News & Events

News & Event Details

Richard Wagamese is selected as a recipient of the 2012 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards

Richard Wagamese is selected as a recipient of the 2012 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards

November 2011

Douglas & McIntyre is delighted to announce that Richard Wagamese has been chosen as a recipient of the 2012 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA) as a representative of media and communications.

The National Aboriginal Achievement Awards were established to encourage and celebrate excellence in the Aboriginal community. NAAF created the Awards in 1993, in conjunction with the United Nation’s International Decade of the World’s Indigenous Peoples. The Awards recognize the outstanding career achievements of First Nations, Inuit and Métis people, in diverse occupations. Now entering their eighteenth year, these Awards have become a Canadian institution.

Each year 14 recipients are recognized for their outstanding accomplishments in various disciplines ranging from health, law, political science, culture, arts, and others, two of which are specific recognition to one outstanding youth achiever and one lifetime achievement recipient. The awards are recognized both nationally and internationally as one of the highest honours the community can bestow upon its own achievers.

The NAAA describes Richard Wagamese as having shared his incredible gift of writing with many audiences throughout the years. These works tell a story of his victory over numerous struggles including childhood abuse, post-traumatic stress disorder and the intergenerational impacts of residential schools. He has spent the last 30 years working in media and communications as a newspaper reporter, columnist, radio producer, broadcaster, documentary producer, and award-winning author. He has drawn national attention for the rich, motivating story of his life For Joshua: An Obijway Father Teaches His Son and for his novel Keeper 'n’ Me which is taught extensively in Canadian Universities. He was the first Aboriginal Canadian to be awarded a National Newspaper Award for column writing with many accolades in the same category to follow. In addition to his writing, Mr. Wagamese is also an inspirational speaker and lecturer and, through his work, has raised awareness of the strength, spirit and power of Indigenous Peoples.

The other recipients of the 2012 award include Adam Beach (Arts), Chief Victor Buffalo – (Business & Commerce), Elder Dave Courchene Jr. (Culture, Heritage & Spirituality), Dr. Leona Makokis (Education), Richard Hardy (Environment & Natural Resources), Dr. Janet Smylie (Health), Violet Ford (Law & Justice), Senator Gerry St. Germain (Lifetime), The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq (Politics), Grand Chief Edward John (Politics), Minnie Grey (Public Service), Earl Cook (Youth), Richard Peter [Bear] (Sports), and Candace Sutherland (Youth).

Read more about Richard Wagamese >>