Douglas & McIntyre

News & Events

News & Event Details

Douglas & McIntyre Wins Big at BC Book Prizes

Douglas & McIntyre Wins Big at BC Book Prizes

May 2014

Douglas & McIntyre was well represented at this year’s BC Book Prizes Gala, which took place at the Renaissance Harbourside Hotel in Vancouver on Saturday, May 3.

Vancouver author David Stouck won both the Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize, which is awarded to the author of the book that contributes the most to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia, and the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize, which is awarded to the author of the best original non-fiction literary work, for his biography Arthur Erickson: An Architect’s Life. During his first acceptance speech, Stouck thanked both Scott McIntyre, for his original enthusiasm for the book, and Howard White, for seeing the project through when Douglas & McIntyre was acquired by White’s Harbour Publishing in 2013.

Douglas & McIntyre won in every single category in which it was nominated. The company’s books won three of the seven prizes awarded that night – more than any other publisher.

The Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award, which is judged by members of the BC Booksellers’ association and presented to the author and originating publisher of the book with the best public appeal, initiative, design production and content, was awarded to Grant Lawrence and Douglas & McIntyre for Lawrence’s non-fiction book, The Lonely End of the Rink: Confessions of a Reluctant Goalie. Lawrence hosts the popular Podcast with Grand Lawrence on CBC Radio 3, and Grant Lawrence Live on CBC Radio 3 and SiriusXM 152. Both Lawrence and Howard White, publisher of Douglas & McIntyre, were there to accept the award.

Two other Douglas & McIntyre titles, The Oil Man and the Sea: Navigating the Northern Gateway by Arno Kopecky and The Cougar: Beautiful, Wild and Dangerous by Paula Wild, were also finalists for the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize and the Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award respectively.

The BC Book Prizes were established in 1985 to recognize the very best in writing and publishing in British Columbia and are awarded annually in seven categories. Each prize comes with $2,000 and a certificate.

Read more about Arthur Erickson >>